Buried Pleasure

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: 12/04/24

Buried Pleasure

Katy has to live inside her head.
The world is dangerous, ‘Something’ might happen to her, according to her Mum.
Katy doesn’t know what ‘Something’ is.
But it means she’s not allowed to do the things her friends do.
She’s very lonely during the school holidays, until…

She goes to stay with Auntie, who doesn’t know about ‘Something’.
Katy ‘skates’ on the linoleum with dusters on her feet, sits on the handlebars of her tricycle and rides backwards, eats stalks of rhubarb dipped into paper bags of SUGAR!
AND she can play with the children from the other cottages.

Katy is good at ‘make-believe’.
Today’s adventure concerns Mississippi steamboats, their ‘boat’ a circle of trees in the yard.
They jump ‘on board’ and the Captain gathers his crew to explain their journey.
‘But is the river deep enough, Cap’n?’ cries a sailor.
‘Why, check it out, my man!’
The sailor clambers up ‘steep stairs’ to the deck, looks over the side and shouts ‘Mark twain, Cap’n.’
‘Aha,’ cries Katy, a passenger, ‘I am a writer and that shall be my pen-name! I shall be famous.’
The game sails on until the crew tires of steamboats and crosses the yard to become a posse in the Wild West.

So the days fly by, and soon Katy, the lone horsewoman, must ride her tricycle ‘into the sunset’ where ‘Something’ is undoubtedly waiting.
She imagines a game where she and Mum are medieval knights, who ride out and slay ‘Something’.
If only…

14 comments

  1. Hmm…

    Part childhood fun and part adult angst.

    A cautionary tale on over-protective parents who create trauma-ridden offspring who might carry these fears and doubts through their lives too.

    PS Nice tip-of-hat to Tom Sawyer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      Yes, I saw the stairs and the seats and though ‘steamboat’, so Tom had to be there.
      But there had to be that wee bit angst too!
      At least in this one I seem to have created a child wise enough to wish she and her mother could slay ‘Something’ together.

      Like

  2. Love this. Reminds me of visits to my (now very much late) Auntie Joyce. Greatly overweight, a voluminous dress that she never seemed to change, hand-rolled cigarette dangling from her bottom lip, beer permanently in hand, a laugh that could heard on the Moon, meals served when she got around to it, and we loved to her bits.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for that, Ladysighs.
      Me too.
      While my aunt got gleaming linoleum, I was busy being a Dutch skater called Sjoukje Dijkstra winning Olympic gold!
      For a sad wee while I lost the ability to ‘make believe’ – but it has come back!

      Like

  3. errr… would it be a shock to say that, as a Reader, I identify with your protagonist on a basis of the things I do now (as opposed to as a child)?

    lol

    gotta love this virtual world, this blogosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not at all, Clark, where else do stories come from?
    Maybe more of us need to be doing that instead of ‘playing soldiers’ in the real world and making a complete mess of ‘reality’!
    Glad the story spoke to you.

    Like

  5. What a gorgeous, fun-loving, creative child you’ve shown here. You brought back memories of my own childhood games, although I was never the most adventurous of my friends. I recall playing Robin Hood and Maid Marian in a small patch of bushland near home, but, along with the adventure, the scratchiness and the dirt and the sense of not being quite safe out there is a strong part of that memory, so I think I mostly got my adventures from story books. Hmm. Interesting. Your naughty ‘Auntie’ sounds like a treasure, and I really like that your narrator wishes she could share her adventures with her mum. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a comment