Immersive Theatre

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: 22/03/24

Immersive Theatre

The theatre is in darkness.
A soft, dismal melody begins.
From the wings a figure appears.
He reaches the centre of the stage, crouches down, head in hands.
And waits…
A spotlight picks out his red shirt.

There is no fourth wall.
To take the play forward, some-one from the audience must react.
A woman stands, makes her way down the aisle.
The beat of the music, stronger now, accompanies her.
She climbs onto the stage.
Recognition flickers – he seems to hesitate.
But she takes him gently by the hands, lifting him to his feet.
Round and round they dance, the music growing more and more frenetic.
As it crescendos, she pulls him from the stage, down through the audience and out of the theatre.
She runs with him towards the setting sun and the fading music.
A cinema screen, lit up now behind the empty stage, follows them.
Speaking in strange tongues, the audience crouch down in their seats, their heads in their hands.
The soft, dismal melody plays again, fades with the light, leaving only the vibration of the last note.

Next morning the audience, early-morning dog-walkers now, spy an unusual patch of red at the foot of the distant cliff.
They hurry to the scene, find the broken body of a man lying spreadeagled across the rocks.
He is clad in a blood-red shirt.
From the top of the cliff a woman’s voice, fading into the distance, sings the opening melody of the play.

23 comments

    • You made me laugh out loud, Ladysighs.
      And I’d be right behind you in the queue to get my money back.
      Not a fan of stuff like that ‘play’, I don’t need to believe what I write is right – so to speak!
      And I’ve heard there’s a piece of music called 4’33” which is 4’33” of silence performed by a soloist and complete orchestra.
      No – definitely not – not ever.

      Like

    • As indeed it is, Doug.
      But it’s only a story.
      Don’t be fooled into thinking I actually enjoy such forms of entertainment.
      My own taste is much less ‘sophisicated’.

      Like

    • Indeed it does, Michael.
      I didn’t set out with a plan for this story, I just followed where it went.
      I suspect I’d be cingingly embarrassed by ‘immersive thatre’ – that is if I ever got myself to attend one!

      Like

      • Michael, I’ve just reread my comment.
        I hope you understand it, for I don’t!
        I must learn to proofread before posting!
        I think the word in my head was ‘thoroughly’ but how it became ‘cingingly’ I have no idea.
        As for ‘thatre’…!
        I’m very sorry.

        Like

  1. engaging, exciting and …satisfying? (ish?)

    as is the fare I come to expect from you (and the others) this is a story that lingers.

    After ‘The End’ fades into dark there are questions. (Surely the hallmark of good flashfiction):

    Did she have to do that? Why did he go along with it… no, wait! what the hell was he doing crouching on stage like some reverse Venus flytrap?

    very cool  

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Clark.
      Image of the week: ‘…no, wait! what the hell was he doing crouching on stage like some reverse Venus flytrap?’ – brilliant.
      And my answer is that I have no idea what he was doing.
      This week I decided to try a different approach – just going where the story went without forcing my ideas onto it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Nancy, you’re always encouraging and I appreciate it.
    The ending took me by surprise too!😄
    I’ve never been to an immersive theatre piece – and am highly unlikely to go now.
    I prefer to be a spectator – like in this story. I just went where it led!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The siren responds from her seat in the theater. We should’ve had our heads up with the red shirt (Star Trek). But would we go so far as to say he was ask ok ng for it?

    Very spooky unicorn you’ve drawn, here!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the mood of mystery and strangeness in this. I’m interested in your comments that you just went where the story took you. Fascinating. I must try that. Great details about the audience after the two characters exit – the image of them all ‘crouching’ in their seats, ‘heads in their hands’, ‘speaking in strange tongues’ is so mysterious and engaging. It makes me think there’s something really wicked going on. Magic? Revenge? And the ending, too, is powerfully suggestive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Margaret, I’m really encouraged by your comment.
      I tried something different with this.
      I started with the idea of bright lights and theatre and did what a book I once read suggested; I began writing with my left hand – I’m right-handed – and it was a slow, slow process; I had to concentrate on each letter.
      That’s where the story began to form in my head and I just followed it, eventually with my right hand because the slowness was doing my head in!
      I actually have no idea what the section with the audience crouching in their seats is about!
      I have to admit that I prefer to be ‘in control’ of a story though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment