The Musicmakers

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: Unicorn Challenge 23/02/24

The Musicmakers

‘What’s wrong, love?’
She lifts her tear-stained face.
‘It’s the music, Gran. It’s finding the sad in me.’
I go to turn off the radio, but she says, ‘No, I want to hear.’
I take her up on my knee and we sit together until the music finishes.
This child is a mystery to me.
She touches lightly on life, laughing and dancing.
Then, with no warning, she’s seized by fits of weeping, as now, and nothing can console her.
It’s as though she’s weighed down by some secret burden of sadness that she can’t explain.
And that no child should know.
When she stops crying, I wipe her face, hug her tight and watch her pick up her pencils and start to draw.
Very soon she’s lost in what she’s doing.
I try to see the picture.
Her hand goes over the paper.’
‘No, Gran, it’s not finished.’
I leave her to it.

I’m busy rubbing in the scone mixture when she comes through.
‘It’s done, Gran.’
I wipe my hands and take the drawing.
I see it with grown-up eyes, and don’t understand; three men, each with a giant eye instead of a face.
But she’s smiling.
‘It’s people who make music,’ she says. ‘I think they must have an extra eye, a secret one that can see inside us. It saw the sad in me and the music took it away. It’s like magic, isn’t it, Gran?’
And I nod, envious of the simplicity of her world.

21 comments

    • Please tell me you’re not flying this plane, Doug!!
      I can only do heart-warming for a certain length of time, and then…
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  1. This is much deeper than it first appears to be, Jenne, not only showing us how a child views the world – a gift we seem to lose as we grow up – but also the power that music has.
    Whether Presley, Pavarotti or Taylor Swift, we each hear something different, something that resonates deep inside us, something that touches the sad or the happy.
    Chapeau.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Michael.
        I think music and art can both reach places that words can’t.
        When I was writing the story, I was looking at artwork by a friend of a friend, and admiring how her touch dances on the page.
        I’d love to be able to do that with words.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, ce.
      I’ve come late to music.
      I was scared of it for a long time – not being as wise as the child in the story, I was afraid of the emotion it might release.
      But I’ve been fortunate to find a really cool music aficionado to help me catch up.

      Like

  2. jeez louise… I am a charlatan, a poseur-with-a-pen!

    Besides this being a gently insightful portrait of a life at a singular time and place, you go and write a line (or phrase or clause, I can never keep them straight) that, in all seriousness, has me on the far-side of the LED Mirror, say out loud,

    “How can I have not found those words?!?! God knows I write enough of them maintaining my blogging jones. A lot of good descriptions and metaphorae but nothing on the level of poetic insight as:

    It’s the music, Gran. It’s finding the sad in me.

    Two words: damn!
    (Think it’s too late for me to take up abstract pottery?)

    lol good story, yo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dude! (😄)
      You don’t need to take up abstract pottery, your writing proves your creative genes are flowing fine.
      I’m blushing at your comment – thank you.
      No idea where the line came from.
      I had written something and knew/felt it wasn’t right. Then the line came. And I worried that it wasn’t correct grammar and might be trite.
      So thank you, your comment has reassured me.

      Like

  3. Oh, Jenne — this is so lovely, so sweet. “finding the sad in me” are perfect words. There is a name for that (which of course I have forgotten) that I looked up when, after the death of someone I loved dearly, all I could do was play sad songs because they helped.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Sally. I’m visiting my homeland of Scotland just now, so running behind with replying to comments! Sorry.
      The power of music – I remember at a time of deep personal sadness that I went to see the film, ‘Death in Venice’. The music was by Mahler and it cut right through me and released a floodgate of sorrow. So yes, I understand exactly what you mean. Thanks again for your lovely comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment