Why

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: Unicorn Challenge 19/01/24

Why?

It’s a rock and roll story.
She’s married to a musician.
Not a great one – yet – but a good one.
They write lyrics and play together.
And tour the circuit of bars and small clubs.

Then she discovers she’s pregnant.

Stop.

They let the joy sink in.
He does what men of music and poetry do – he writes a song for her and their unborn child.
And what a song it is!

He takes his music more seriously now, determined to be a success.
He’s nearly thirty after all.
It goes well for them.
While she stays at home to look after their baby, he goes on tour.
Right across the United States.
Europe even.
But she knows it’s taking its toll.
Knows he’s weary of it all, so far away from her and their toddler son.

She doesn’t know he has written her a letter.
Not until it arrives, five days after his death in a plane crash.
She can hardly see the words through her tears.
He’s going to quit music, earn a living doing something that doesn’t take him so far away from them.
The letter ends, ‘Remember, it’s the first thirty years that count and I’ve got thirty to go. I love you.’

When the tears stop, she picks up her son and carries him to the window seat.
Together they listen to that song he wrote for both of them.
‘If I could save time in a bottle…’

The song, with a video of Jim Croce and his family.

21 comments

    • It’s a story I’ve wanted to write for some time.
      It’s the kind of tale that can easily tip over into sentimentality, so thank you for that comment.
      And for introducing me to his music.
      One of my favourites.

      Like

  1. A sad story. I had never heard the song before. (among the many I’ve never heard before). The words fit so many different scenarios and we each apply it to our own situation. How fortunate we are to have musicians to put our very thoughts into words and music.
    And how fortunate we are to have writers to tell us the stories behind the songs.
    Touching story. We never know how many years we have to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I dream of writing something funny.
      It’s OK to have dreams – even unlikely ones.
      And if, in the meantime, people write lovely comments about somethung serious, why not just bow to the inevitable and enjoy what I’ve got.
      After all, as people also write, ‘We never know how many years we have to go.’

      Like

      • No matter how many times I say, “I don’t care what people think,” I really do care what people think. Most of our lives we have been trained to follow directions and are rewarded for doing so. By the time we break free and decide to please ourselves it’s probably “time for us to go wherever we are destined to go.” lol Most likely to the devil.

        Like

    • I agree, Michael, about him being underrated. He was actually a late discovery for me, and I’ve wanted to honour his story for some time. Thank you for your lovely comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was in my early teens when Jim Croce died so it hit me, being one of my first , and loving his music. I didn’t even know this story, had I , I probably would have been inconsolable!
    Ypu’ve written it beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment