Secrets

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: Unicorn Challenge 01/12/23

Secrets

‘Morning Giddy.’
‘Morning, Mrs T. You well?’
‘Oh, you know… D’you want the usual?’
‘Yes indeed. I’ll be back in a minute. Just popping to the…’
He winks as he passes through the cafe.
She knows that Giddy, a lawyer whose full name is Cyril Alphonsus Gideon, won’t be back in what most people call a minute.
His trip to the gender neutral toilets – ‘cubicles only’ and ‘cubicles and urinals’, or, as they used to be called, Ladies and Gents – usually takes some time.
And is the reason for Mrs T’s concession to political correctness, for which she doesn’t otherwise see the necessity, because, before the cafe was upgraded and expanded, there was only one toilet which was, obviously, gender neutral.
This concession is to allow Giddy free access to what would previously have been the Ladies.
Now Giddy doesn’t have gender issues – and even if he did, that wouldn’t be a problem for one such as Mrs T.
No, Giddy uses ‘cubicles only’ because he has been entrusted with Mrs T’s special key to cubicle 3 – (permanently locked) – which is where she keeps her safe…

Eventually he wanders back into the cafe, happily humming ‘The Winner Takes It All’ and Mrs T serves him his single shot americano and croissant.
Secure in his confirmation that her ‘other business’ is thriving, she smiles benevolently at the only person privy – sorry! – to this operation, Cyril Alphonsus Gideon, the secret love child of Mrs T and the late Cyril Alphonsus Gideon Snr.

24 comments

  1. Laughing.
    Trying to imagine in what nefarious business Mrs T is involved, although with that moniker she could be the devil incarnate!
    Fun story, Jenne, despite the toilet humour!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Didn’t even think of THAT Mrs T – it was just the name that popped into my head, but now that you mention it…
      Glad you enjoyed the story.

      Like

  2. I love your clever story.
    Now this is true:
    I read “I’ll be back in a minute. Just popping to the…’ ”
    as
    ” I’ll be back in a minute. just pooping to the’ ”

    That picture has been stuck in my mind since it was posted. Or maybe you really did want us to read it that way? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • And now it’s stuck in my mind too!
      Nice one, Ladysighs.
      Another priceless comment from the woman who says she can’t make comments!
      Thank you! 🦄🙃

      Like

    • Hi Cheryl
      You’ve accidentally posted yout story on my story insteaf of on the blog page.
      It’s confusing because the picture at the top is the same on both.
      I’ve reposted on the blog page so that others get a chance to see it.
      Hope that’s OK. Jenne

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What an excellent little story. It’s got ever thing: engaging characters sharing a secret that we Readers hope to be made (pre-apology: here*) privy to.

    And, in the manner of the best of flash fiction, a major element is left to the Reader to fill in the blank

    * I claim undue influence by one Ladysighs and the fact that she started it…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Secrets upon secrets! Mrs T is certainly well organised, and isn’t she lucky to have such a loyal ‘love-child’ as Giddy. I was becoming more and more intrigued as I read, and I really enjoyed discovering what was going on. Lots of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Margaret. A bit like you – although in your case with no reason – I feel not so confident about light-hearted stories, so I’m glad you enjoyed finding out (a bit of) what it was about.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder if Miss T kept a blue safe in her loo?
      Maybe if she did, she’d be able to tell me what on earth was inside, for I have no idea!
      Sometimes the nonsense just writes itself and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a comment