Coriander

© Jenne Gray

This challenge is produced by GirlieOnTheEdge with the following simple rules:
Write six sentences, no more, no less.
Use the current week’s prompt word – EDGE

Coriander

The cottage looks quaint, hiding among trees and shrubs, flowers trailing down the walls, birds singing in the bushes, the scent of roses – and something else, indefinable – wafting over from behind the gate.

Then I hear singing, a light, youthful voice, which surprises me because she must be well advanced in years by now, and I catch sight of her passing the gate; she’s just as he described her, except that the curls that still tangle down her back have mellowed from fiery orange to salt and pepper and she wears a shawl over her much-faded, once-so-colourful, flowing dress.

She’s a spey-wife, he tells me, the kind of woman who would have been strangled and burned at the stake as a witch a couple of centuries ago; the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, she’s a herbalist and a wise healer.

The vengeance I nurse in my heart has taken root and spread tentacles through all my waking and sleeping hours, driving me to the edge of reason, so I have no wish to be healed, desiring only to cause hurt to the one who hurt me.

He knows this, yet insists that she owes him a great debt and, as she once did for him, will use her healing skills to the limit (some might say far beyond, but she sees not right and wrong, only duty and necessity) and will do whatever is needed to redress the balance in my life.

I stare at the cottage, still hesitant to put my future in her hands, then, breathing deeply, I lean over the gate and call ‘Hello Coriander, an old friend says you can help me’ and when I mention his name, the singing stops abruptly.

34 comments

  1. Well, well, I recognise that intriguing lady, but never expected her to turn up in a story by a different author!
    Brilliant use of her, Jenne, and hugely intriguing tale that leaves us wondering about the past and the future in equal measure.
    Another tour de force.

    Liked by 1 person

      • She just wandered into my mind when I passed the house in the photo and then refused to leave.
        And she’s such an intriguing character, as you seem to have noticed!
        But you would do, having created her.
        I’m glad she stopped by.
        And you too, thanks for commenting so graciously on my purloining of your creation.

        Like

        • When I last saw Coriander she was a significant but minor character in my widely acclaimed (by almost 3 people) novella The Divorce Lawyer, set in south-west Scotland. I am surprised to see her here, and surprised that her bonnie red hair has gone to grey. You’d have thunk she’d have a potion for that!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Yes, it was actually the Divorce Lawyer who recommended Coriander’s services. I’ve no idea what she’s been up to since that excellently crafted tale of intrigue, murder and the human heart, but what I do know is that you must never question a woman on her choice of hair colour. It’s a deeply personal matter and commenting on it can have dire consequences.
            PS The Divorce Lawyer is great. It needs to be published.

            Liked by 1 person

    • And you can meet her again in C. E. Ayr’s story, ‘The Divorce Lawyer.’ Mind you, she also made an appearance in in a play he and I co-wrote. She gets around! Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know where the reply I wrote a couple of days ago has gone! Shades of Alex creeping across! I had to look up ranga. I thought it might refer to curls tumbling down your back. Mind you, maybe you had red curls tumbling down your back! thanks for reading and commenting, Doug.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ah yes, Coriander … You can meet her in C. E. Ayr’s novella, The divorce Lawyer, though she also floated into a play we co-wrote. Where she goes from here, who knows… Thanks for commenting, Chris.

      Like

  2. Nice descriptive phrase: “I have no wish to be healed, desiring only to cause hurt to the one who hurt me” I like how the singing abruptly stopped after she apparently ignored his greeting.

    Like

  3. What was the word Doug used?* Evocative… totally and, at the risk of redundancy, quite engaging.

    *the inference of how I chose to word this, is, imo at the heart of the fun of creative crossovers. Especially in the realm of fiction where worlds are offered to be explored and enjoyed.

    cool

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some of which could be answered in C. E. Ayr’s novella, The Divorce Lawyer, Linds. She also put in an appearance in a play he and I co-wrote. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  4. 3-D storytelling anyone? Marvelous opening, Jenne. I’ve always enjoyed the word “waft” in any of its iterations, lol
    Coriander is a compelling character. Your Six teases us with hope for a follow up!

    Like

    • Ah well, More about Coriander can be found in C. E. Ayr’s novella, The Divorce Lawyer. The characters in a play he and I co-wrote had need of her skills too! Thank you for your always encouraging comments, Denise.

      Like

  5. You made me laugh, Liz! She’s keeping quiet for now, but you can find a hint of the kind of thing she gets up to in C. E. Ayr’s novella, The Divorce Lawyer, where I first met her. She also found her way into a pantomime he and I co-wrote. She’s always very helpful! 😉 Thanks for commenting.

    Like

Leave a comment