My Hero

© Ayr/Gray

The Unicorn Challenge.

A magical new weekly writing opportunity from him – C. E. Ayr – and me.
The rules are
Maximum of 250 words.
Based on photo prompt.
That’s it.

Click here to read other stories from the prompt: 10/05/24

My Hero

He looked like a cross between Albert Einstein and Pinocchio’s dad – white hair sticking up, black waistcoat hanging open, twinkling eyes behind round glasses.
He was my grandfather.
And he was a locksmith.
My mother took care of us both.
(My father ran off soon after I was born, but I didn’t miss him – I had Granpa.)
When she had to go out, Mum would take me to his workshop.
I’d sit very still and watch him.
He’d be bent over his table, totally concentrated on the insides of a lock.
Nothing could distract him.
It was so peaceful.
And magical.
I’d picture the houses the locks would protect, invent adventures for the children who played there.
But eventually I’d get fidgety, and he’d take me over to the table.
He’d show me how to open locks – without a key!
I loved that.
Then he’d get me to try.
He used to time me and I got faster and faster.
We didn’t tell Mum though!
To this day, whenever I see a lock, I pick it – only in my head, of course.
Well, actually…
Oh, never mind.

I remember the day he put me in handcuffs and taught me how to escape.
He said it was good training.
When I asked what for, he winked and said, ‘Just in case…’
I wonder if he suspected?
Or if he already…?
Whatever – it’s thanks to him I trained as a doctor and became a famous surgeon.

But that’s only my day job..

19 comments

    • Somewhere I started a reply to your comment, Liz, but it seems to have disappeared – maybe sunk by the Devil in the marsh of your story? 🙃
      Thanks for ‘lighthearted whimsey’ – I really like that, especially since I was trying for a departure from my habitual ‘doom and gloom’!
      And I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Delicious story of a grandfather and a curious child, superbly drawn.

    I almost said choreographed, because it’s that good.

    But I didn’t, just in case…

    (Last thought – a surgeon is good, but a hairdresser would have been funnier.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always good to take ‘Just in case’ into account. 😉
      And I see what you mean about the hairdresser – thank you for that notion .
      Happy you liked the story.

      Like

  2. engaging tale (we’ve come to expect that)

    spent time (while reading) running through my own experiences with locks and locksmiths, (of course)

    but… but what jump-started my story-smile was the ‘double feint at the end’

    I wonder if he suspected?” (primus misdirectous reinforced by the ‘…a surgeon’)

    then (with a couple of missing lines, the narrative version of house lights coming up)

    But that’s only my day job..

    If this was a reading in some smokey after-hours club, I’d be rapping my knuckles on the scarred wood of the round table (prefer that to simple clapping)

    muy coolito

    Like

  3. This is a beautifully plotted, intriguing tale, Jenne. Like M B Fishman… and Oliver… I want more, please!

    Like

  4. He looked like a cross between Albert Einstein and Pinocchio’s dad” Best opening line of the day.

    Lovely write, Jenne.

    BTW – Geppetto, Petto, Peppino, Peppe, Geppe … all shortened versions of Giuseppe. Here in The States we just say “Joe”!

    Like

Leave a comment